DPS Teen Leadership Institute students receive city’s Spirit of Detroit Award

The DPS Teen Leadership Institute, a student organization primarily focused on providing students experience in governance and its operations, today, March 8, 2011 received a Spirit of Detroit award from the Detroit City Council. The award, which honors people, events or organizations for outstanding service to the city, was presented at today’s City Council meeting.

The students are being honored for volunteering to represent their schools as school leaders, preparing themselves for future leadership and providing service to their schools and community.

“The DPS Teen Leadership Institute is comprised of a dynamic group of young people who offer hope for the future,” said Sheryl Jones, Director of the Detroit Public Schools Office of History, Society and Culture. “They are intelligent, informed, politically-savvy, and they legitimately want to make a positive difference in their schools and communities.”

Twenty-eight DPS schools participate in the Teen Leadership Institute, a group that provides a democratic forum where students can address school/district related issues. The group, which gives students an enhanced awareness of school, community and local concerns, also assists them in meeting the state content expectations contained in the Citizenship in Action strand of the Government curriculum.

Students in the Teen Leadership Institute engage in mock jury trials and learn about parliamentary procedures, bill-writing, fundraising, service learning projects, community service activities and appropriate conduct at state conferences. Through students’ participation and experiences in TLI, it is expected that their scores on state-wide assessments will increase. Participating students also exhibit strengthened leadership and communication skills.

Teen Leadership Institute Officers are: President Richard Swoop (Renaissance), President Elect James Murray (Davis Aerospace), Vice President Janee Thompkins (Crockett), and Corresponding Secretary Alexis Tally-Blanks (Crockett).

This entry was posted in News and Press Releases.