PSL sends 29 scholarship football players to college ranks on National Letter of Intent Signing Day

The result of hard work, guidance, discipline and talent was in evidence Wednesday at Marcus Garvey Academy’s Harambee Center where beaming parents, proud coaches and loyal Detroit Public School League supporters celebrated 29 PSL scholar-athletes’ acceptance of scholarships on college football’s National Letter of Intent Signing Day.

With print and broadcast media on hand to document the occasion, each scholarship recipient ceremoniously signed a poster bearing their college’s name and mascot, then posed for pictures and answered questions from the press.

To much fanfare, King High running back Dennis Norfleet, who previously had a verbal commitment to Cincinnati, instead chose to sign with the University of Michigan. In all, the PSL’s 2012 football scholarship recipients chose 17 different colleges.

Michigan also landed Cass Tech linebacker Royce Jenkins-Stone and cornerback Terry Richardson, although both players had to miss Wednesday’s program due to a scheduling conflict. They’re in Texas preparing for a weekend prep All-Star game.

Nonetheless, the Division I state champion Technicians were represented by Coach Thomas Wilcher and five other players who accepted scholarships, including linebacker Laron Taylor (Iowa), wide receiver Ruben Lile (Iowa), defensive back Brandon Berry (Buffalo), defensive end Louis Palmer (Central Michigan) and defensive back Will Rembert (Buffalo).

Quarterback Brian Blackburn of PSL Division I champion Crockett signed with Toledo, while Rockets’ wide receiver defensive back James White chose Bowling Green, wide receiver-safety Nicholas Tripp signed with Northwood and fullback-middle linebacker Marcellous McElrath chose Wayne State.

Finney High had eight scholarship recipients, including linebacker Kenyatta Forbes, running back-safety Anton Carter, running back-linebacker Antoine Jackson and defensive back Jovantae Turner, who all signed with Virginia University of Lynchburg. Quarterback Kendrick Mingo (Langston U. in Oklahoma), wide receiver Sean Washington (Graceland U. in Iowa), wide receiver-cornerback Rodney Underwood (Lakeland U. in Wisconsin) and wide receiver-safety Larry Jones (Lakeland) also signed from the Highlanders.

Renaissance’s defensive tackle Jabari Dean (Central Michigan), defensive back Chris Norris (Northwood), offensive lineman Thor Hicks (Robert Morris) and defensive back DeMario Burton (Central State) also signed.

Other signees included King High wide receiver Brandon Tinsley (Wayne State), Douglass High linebacker Marquis Steward (Siena Heights), Mumford offensive lineman Daron Brown (Northern Illinois), Ford quarterback Victor Edge (Northwood) and Ford defensive back Kim Spurlock (Central Iowa).

This entry was posted in Boys, News and Press Releases, Sports and tagged .